top of page

The 5W's....and sometimes How


This is what my wife regularly says to our kids at home after they've read a book. Asking them to share the Who? What? When? Where? Why? How? of a story. I used to just chuckle at the #teachermom that she is because until recently, I didn’t realize that what she's actually doing is gauging their reading comprehension.

As I've made my way around the county, meeting with residents and getting to know people in our community, I've routinely been asked questions that start with each of these. So, it prompted my thinking: if teachers need to check the understanding and real-world thinking of their students, shouldn't the community want to do the same for the elected officials that make decisions on their behalf?

The answer, of course, is a resounding YES! So here are my answers to some of the most common “5W’s and sometimes How” questions:

Who is Josh Rojas? Just a local guy with a strong family background, proud of his Mexican-American heritage, who wants to see a better community through collaboration with others. I’m a man who wants to raise his children (and yes, I have a TON of them!) in a great place that honors the traditions that built this county, but is progressive enough to bring positive and necessary changes to build a foundation for their future; OUR future.

Why did you decide to run for county commissioner? Working as a WRAP Facilitator with the county, I come up alongside families that are in need of various kinds and levels of care. I see all types of families facing so many challenges without proper support or resources, struggling with issues from mental health to housing to education to economic development. These issues affect residents county-wide and I see this first-hand as I work directly with schools, local and state agencies, and other community resource programs. Thru these partnerships, I’ve realized that change can only happen when all agencies come together to work towards what’s best for everyone involved. Only through collaboration of city and county governments can we work towards seeing real change. Needed change.

What is your background? What do you bring to this position? I grew up in McMinnville, with a family firmly rooted in this community. I spent my time watching my grandfather, Clancy Hinrichs (Linfield College Professor, retired), give back to anyone who needed it. I heard the word integrity all the time growing up. I was taught that standing up for others who may not have nor were sure how to use their voice was the right thing to do. I learned that supporting others helped build a better community. I was taught collaboration from a young age; I saw it build and strengthen families, churches, schools, and other community assets, especially its residents. Those deeply instilled values were what prompted me to run for president of our county union. I wanted to support others and when I saw the need to build a community to try to work with--not against--the commissioners, I knew that was my place to be.

bottom of page